The New Fatmare Cometh!!

Here’s the new girl!

The fatmare is gearing up!

Today I bought another fat mare! Apparently, I can’t be without one! This time she is a Lippizan horse.

I have always had an obsession with this breed. It must have to do with the fabulous White Lippizan Stallion tours I saw as a kid. I remember being so impressed with the symmetry and dance-like quality of their performances.  Plus watching the Disney movie, The Miracle of the White Stallions, added a historical overview that hooked me to this rare breed. Can you believe that there are only 5,000 Lippizan horses in the world?

Last summer I rode my friend’s Lippizan mare appropriately named Lippy. She was like riding a fast-moving cloud. I loved her power, connection, and grace. She was very different from any other horse I had ridden before. She seemed almost like a unicorn.

The ‘new’ fatmare is only four and has lived with her sisters out on a large acreage. So I will be training her from square one myself. I figure that her lessons and my lessons will merge to create a fabulous co-creative dance. I can’t wait to share this new chapter with you. She will arrive on January 1, 2012…so stay tuned.

2 comments on “The New Fatmare Cometh!!

  1. Caliat says:

    That is one gorgeous head, can’t wait to see more pictures of her 🙂

  2. fatmare says:

    Aw..thanks! I can’t wait to take more pics of her!

Leave a Reply

