Lesson Seven

Does your pain body look like this?

Over the weekend, I had an editor give me feedback on one of the stories I wrote for my new iPad app. In the story, I created a character based on Eckhart Tolle’s description of what a pain body is. Here is my abridged interpretation of the pain body: The pain body is a collection of negative energy that is a separate entity from your true self. It can be trigger by negative energy and thought. The pain body feeds on that negative energy and becomes bigger. I really like this concept. I find it very useful to knowing when I’m triggered and how to let go of those negative patterns. The letting go process is a whole different post. Right now, all I can say is that one of the best teachers out there is Sandra Wallin of Chiron’s Way (see my list of folks I love).

I remember getting Eckhart’s book, A New Earth: Awakening to Your Life’s Purpose , on audiobooks and listening to it on my commute to work. The odd thing was I just wasn’t that in to it. I would listen to Chapter One several times then go back to my standard fare of NPR podcasts like, This American Life.  I don’t think I was ready for the message at that point in my life.

Nine months later, I went to Arizona to do a workshop with Linda Kohanov, author of The Tao of Equus. I took the Ipod with me for the three hour drive from Phoenix. I put A New Earth on and was immediately hooked. An hour out of Phoenix and I was reveling in the open highway and the incredible high desert views while feeling so tuned in to Eckhart’s words.  I felt like his words were speaking directly to me. I remember feeling a great expansiveness and that yes! I could change my life and the path I was on.

I thought of that experience this morning as I rode Nootka. South Carolina mornings are divine! It was sunny, warm with blue skies and a few puffy clouds. Nothing better than that in my book! As I rode Nootka, I thought of the beauty of the moment. Just me and Nootka in partnership moving in straight lines and circles, sometimes backing up, other times halting, or changing our speed.  It reminded me of the start-up business process and of life in general.

Sometimes you want to plot the course in a straight line. You know the: I need to do this; to get that. I really wanted the Ipad development to be like that. I wanted to put it all down on paper from big ideas to small details then get a fabulous tech person to program it. It seemed simple enough. It has turned out to be more like the ride I had on Nootka this morning. Lots of starting and stopping, circles back to where (I swear) I was before, changes in speed from slow to fast, straight lines of progress, and beautiful moments of the clarity of possibility in between.

Then heard the words of Eckhart again. I heard him speak of mindfulness and being very aware of your body and actions. A clearing of the mind so to speak.  I thought this is how I feel on Nootka but not always with the start-up. With that I feel pressured make it perfect, funny, interactive, great visually, etc.

Is the real lesson about being in circles, straight lines, halts, and at various speeds and just enjoying where you are? 

Leave a Reply

